Last month shooting SB I was on turkeys. The 1st turkey was in the shade & I didn't see it, consequently I started on the 2nd Turkey & didnt realize my error until I got to the last turkey & had a round left over. Not sure what to do I went back to the 1st turkey saw it & shot it.
Point of fact I hit all 5 however every single one of them was shot out of order... How would you score that??
Greg was at the match & gave me his interpretation of the rules (which I agree with BTW) but I believe this might make for an interesting topic of discussion.
According to the rules 0
Being somewhat lenient 4 of 5 (in order as you saw them)
Match director discretion due to shadows "hiding" 1st turkey 5 of 5
How is that for being wishy washy
David
NRA Life Member
IHMSA Member #17952
Why punch paper when you can SLAM STEEL!!!!
I may have told Bob wrong. Should it have been 3 instead. It should have been a miss on the first and and second. Because he skipped the first one one and engaged the second thus causing himself to not have a number 2 target to shoot at. Then his next legal targets would have been 3 4 and 5.
Greg
Life Member of N.R.A.
80X80 7/27/2010
Ky State Director
35isit wrote:I may have told Bob wrong. Should it have been 3 instead. It should have been a miss on the first and and second. Because he skipped the first one one and engaged the second thus causing himself to not have a number 2 target to shoot at. Then his next legal targets would have been 3 4 and 5.
Greg,
I think your answer would have been correct if he knew that he hit the wrong one immediately, but because he shot the first four out of sequence that took out all five. (First target was a miss when he hit the second one.)
Bob,
Don't feel bad...at least when you hit the wrong target, it was YOUR target. I lined up on someone else's BB turkeys and started blasting away... LOL
Chris
God created Electronic Warfare Maintenance Technicians so pilots would have heroes too.
The correct scoring is 3 hits. Per the rules: "If the incorrect target is to the right of the correct target, the correct target is scored as a miss, as is the target knocked down. The maximum penalty shall be two targets for each single occurence." This is assuming the remaining shots are shot left to right. The fifth shot, in this case, is of no consequence. As to the comment about Match Director discretion; there is no discretion allowed. The rule is clear.
I based my response from my remembrance of the rule book. This is from the rule book posted on this site.
An incorrect target knocked down out of sequence. If the incorrect target is to the right of the correct target, the correct target is scored as a miss, as is the target knocked down. The maximum penalty shall be two targets for each single occurrence.
That is from section IX under paragraph E Scoring / Line 4 / Subline C
Greg
Life Member of N.R.A.
80X80 7/27/2010
Ky State Director
My original reply was based on Boomer's statement, "...every single one of them was shot out of order."
Actually, that was not correct. Here's my revised interpretation. Target one was a miss as Boomer shot #2. Number two is no longer available, thus that is a miss. However, he did hit targets 3 through 5 in order contrary to his statement above. Thus, he should be credited with three hits.
I'm blaming my error on Boomer's erroneous statement.
Steve W.
Past Match Director, JCSA - Grants Pass, OR
Past JCSA Board Member
IHMSA Life Member
Past Editor IHMSA News
Past Manager of IHMSA HQ West
NRA Patron
Due to recent cutbacks the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.