Forming 7 TCU Brass

Questions on all things reloading
United States of America
jbolt
Spotter
IHMSA Member#: 57865

Forming 7 TCU Brass

Post by jbolt »

One of the barrels that came with my Contender is a 7 TCU so I'm going to use it as my production gun. While I have been hand loading for over 40 years I have no previous experience with the 7 TCU

I have some new Lapua 223 brass to make the 7 TCU brass. The Contender I purchased from a fellow club member gave me a Pacific Durachrome 2 dies set and a Redding sizer dies. I am not familiar with the Pacific dies. Another fellow shooter also gave me a new RCBS 2 dies set. Both the Pacific and RCBS sizing dies have tapered expanders that will fit into the 223 neck. The tapers seem short to me but I tried both dies on some cheap federal 223 brass and they both seem to work with the RCBC being smoother.

Questions:

Is it okay to expand the necks in one go or should they be sized in steps?

When sizing in one step or at the final if sizing in more than one step should I full size or back off the sizing die and just expand the neck?

After the first firing does this cartridge prefer neck sizing only or full length sizing? In general I full length size most bottle neck calibers I shoot just enough to bump the shoulder back a few thousands.
IHMSA #57865
User avatar United States of America
JACKIE40X40
Class A
IHMSA Member#: 13263

Re: Forming 7 TCU Brass

Post by JACKIE40X40 »

jbolt wrote:One of the barrels that came with my Contender is a 7 TCU so I'm going to use it as my production gun. While I have been hand loading for over 40 years I have no previous experience with the 7 TCU