IHMSA PRESIDENTS COLUMN JULY 2011

Here is the place to post your ideas and suggestions for the President of IHMSA.
Forum rules
Civility and decorum is expected. Any posts of an antagonistic or abusive nature will be deleted and the poster reprimanded.
User avatar United States of America
high standard 40
Class A
IHMSA Member#: 11568

Re: IHMSA PRESIDENTS COLUMN JULY 2011

Post by high standard 40 »

I have been saying for several years that the requirement to shoot two entries to qualify for the Internationals needs to go away. This requirement has outlived it's usefulness. In today's economy there are a large number of people who just can't afford to travel the distance it takes to get to a range and compete during the year....or work requirements don't allow it. Dropping it from 3 entries to two was a help, but it's time for this to go away altogether. The State, Regional, or International Championship may be the only match some people are able to attend and we should not turn these folks away.

Charlie Braud
Match Director....Ascension Silhouette
IHMSA Member since 1980
Former Match Director Baton Rouge Silhouette Club
Current Match Director Ascension Silhouette
Current Match Director Saline Creek Silhouette
Current Match Director Top Shot Silhouette
NRA Life Member
NRA Range Safety Officer
19 Turkeys
Class AA
IHMSA Member#: 33287

Post by 19 Turkeys »

I have to concur with Charlie. If it is kept, make it for the first year shooter only to ensure safety.

Steve W.
Past Match Director, JCSA - Grants Pass, OR
Past JCSA Board Member
IHMSA Life Member
Past Editor IHMSA News
Past Manager of IHMSA HQ West
NRA Patron

Due to recent cutbacks the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.
mugs
Spotter
IHMSA Member#: 0

Post by mugs »

I'll third that.
Mugs
IHMSA 5940L
Shoot only cast Boolits
Member since 1979 #5940
Former Match Director Anchor Rams
Former Match Director Phoenix Silhouette
Former Alaska State Director
NRA Life
IHMSA Life
Cast Bullet 80x80 1983