New to the sport

Articles on all topics written by IHMSA members
xterrettx
Target Painter
IHMSA Member#: 0

New to the sport

Post by xterrettx »

Hi, I am new to IHMSA. So new if fact I will be attending my first match this sunday.
I currently own a super blackhawk 10.5" and will be shooting at said match.
I would love to hear any helpful advise and tips on technique, ammo choices and the sport in general.
Any thought are greatly appreciated.
User avatar United States of America
19 Turkeys
Class AA
IHMSA Member#: 33287

Re: New to the sport

Post by 19 Turkeys »

My best advice would be to show up early, introduce yourself, and start talking with people. I promise that people will be more than willing to get you started. If you are going to shoot your revolver from the Creedmoor position you will need the following in addition to ear & eye protection: blast shield to put between your leg & the revolver to protect you from the barrel/cylinder gap blast of burned powder, a shooting glove (I like weight lifting gloves with half fingers.), and an elbow pad. Again, I like Adams brand as they are made from high density foam and are not bulky but do a great job.

You could also go to YouTube and search on GunZorro and ATSN West Coast Championship. There are lots of IHMSA videos that are good for introducing you to the sport.

What club will be be shooting at?

Best of luck & most of all have fun! :)

Steve W.lki
Past Match Director, JCSA - Grants Pass, OR
Past JCSA Board Member
IHMSA Life Member
Past Editor IHMSA News
Past Manager of IHMSA HQ West
NRA Patron

Due to recent cutbacks the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.
xterrettx
Target Painter

Post by xterrettx »

I understood that some sort or shield was necessary for the creedmore, I just don't know where to find one. If you have any recommendations i would appreciate it.
As for this first match, I will probably try a flop position if allowed. I also planed on entering standing.