500 Meter Handgun Match Prior to the World Championship

therose7
Target Painter
IHMSA Member#: 15213

500 Meter Handgun Match Prior to the World Championship

Post by therose7 »

Hey all,
I plan to put on a 500 meter ULTRA (Ultra Long Target Range Association) handgun silhouette match at Avenal, California on the Tuesday and Wednesday before the World Championship begins on Friday at the Los Angeles Silhouette Club. I have been putting on 500 meter handgun matches since 1984. It's a serious challenge and a lot of fun.

Avenal is about three hours north of the Los Angeles Silhouette Club range. The range is located within 5 miles of the Avenal exit off I-5.

Those coming in on I-80 and going south on I-5 will pass right by the range.

This will be a set your own targets match like most ULTRA matches.
The rules have been the same since the mid 1980s.
Pistols must be IHMSA legal and are shot in the same categories as IHMSA: Production, Revolver, Unlimited, Standing, and, oh, yes, Half Size.
You think you're good at silhouette? Try shooting half size targets at the rifle distances; chickens at 200 meters, pigs at 300 meters, turkeys at 385 meters and rams at 500 meters.

All categories are shot either scoped or iron sights. They scopes are not shot against iron sights. They are separate categories.

There will be no entry fees and no trophies. The only fees will be $5.00 a day for shooting and $5.00 a day for camping on the range and another $5.00 if you run an air conditioner in your mobile home. There are several hook ups, and there is a motel about 15 miles north on I-5 at Harris Ranch.