The Future of IHMSA

The place to shoot the breeze on all things IHMSA
United States of America
captainsc
Target Setter
IHMSA Member#: 57582

The Future of IHMSA

Post by captainsc »

I have been shooting IHMSA for a few years and have noticed that I am the youngest shooter on the line at [2] different clubs where i shoot IHMSA - except for my 2 sons. I am 47 years old. Most of our shooters are retired or soon to retire. My concern is for the future of our sport. Does anyone have any suggestions of how to bring new shooters into our sport? A concern I have is that when a member of one of the clubs where we shoot observes one of our monthly matches, quickly they become discouraged because of the lack of new, readily available firearms that are available to purchase to be close to being competitive in our sport. If we look at the firearms used at our local matches and international matches, approximately 98% of these guns are no longer in production or have 6-12 month lead times. If we ignore Unlimited guns for the moment and look at the Production category, the most popular gun is the TC Contender. While some may argue the availability of the G2 pistol frames, TC no longer offers a 10” barrel - 12” and 14” barrels only. One may argue, you can order a custom barrel from several different companies, but the lead time is measured in several months to over a year. Other guns used are BF’s, MOA’s, Freedom Arms, Anschutz’s, XP-100’s and others. Half are no longer in production and the other half have extended lead times. I would like to see IHMSA be around for many years to come. Does anyone have a view off what IHMSA might look like in 5, 10, 15 years? Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to increase the number of IHMSA shooters? I am not trying to point fingers at what has happened in the past, I want to find ways to expand our numbers for the future with solid ideas and discussion.
United States of America
xp-100
Class B
IHMSA Member#: 57405