Grips - What's the reasoning...

Questions about, disagreements with or ideas for new rules post here.
Scotchmo
Target Setter
IHMSA Member#: 0

Grips - What's the reasoning...

Post by Scotchmo »

for this part of the rules?:

A. Equipment and Accessories
2. Not Allowed
B) Applied friction materials or rubberizing on any part of the handgun.

It seems like it should be allowed, at least on grips. A grip should be "grippy" as opposed to slippery.
United States of America
i26963
Class A
IHMSA Member#: 26963

Re: Grips

Post by i26963 »

I have been shooting this game since 1981, and some of our rules never cease to amaze me. You cannot checker, or rubberize, but you can use a Pachmeyer forend and grip, which is rubber and checkered!! :p
Another one that bothers me is in Production. Only the manufacturer can re-barrel your production gun(Which in the case of MOA, is not possible right now. Or, in the case of BF, wait over a year on a re-barrel) but you can buy aftermarket TC barrels with your choice of barrel manufactuer in some cases.
We seem to make it hard for new shooters to get started.
I don't want to hear the crap about preserving the Production gun. We all know the only difference now in a Prod. gun and a UL gun is the sight radius. And look where that rule has gotten us now! :-s
Co-Match Director LRGC, Lincolnton, GA
United States of America
260 Striker
Class AA

Re: Grips - What's the reasoning...

Post by 260 Striker »